Understanding Your Rights As A Repeated Offender
Being arrested and charged with the same crime more than once does not limit or restrict your right to seek counsel and learn of your rights. You may feel that you are doomed, and there is no hope for your situation. That is not the case. You are still entitled to be represented by effective and qualified counsel for the charges you are charged with, and this includes repeated DUIs, theft, and assault.
Repeated DUI Penalties
When your back is against the wall, and you need a lawyer that knows the law, you need the experience and expertise of a renowned and respected Pennsylvania Criminal Defense Attorney, We take your case seriously. To us you are not another person, you are our person of interest. In 2018, the laws surrounding repeat DUI offenders changed from being a misdemeanor to a felony. This is due to the related number of DUI casualties.
What you need to know is that every state has its penal system for repeat offenders. In Pennsylvania, the laws are outlined, and unless you have a good attorney that knows how to interpret the law, your rights could be overlooked, and you could be overcharged. For the first DUI offense, you are looking at 60 to 90 days or two to three months, with fines up to $500. The penalty for a second DUI offense is at least three months or 90 days, and a $1,000 fine. A person found guilty of a third DUI offense can get six months or 180 days in jail, and a fine of $2,500.
If another DUI is repeated within 10 years, the defendant is looking at a felony charge which carries steeper charges. Most times, police stop drivers without probable cause, which in some cases can lead to a violation of the driver’s rights. After we represent your case in court and prove that you were a victim of a false report or unwarranted stop, our clients get these cases resolved.
Repeated Theft Penalties
Repeated theft offenders are punished under a value system. This is according to the value of the object or item the accused has supposedly taken. It is a third-degree felony for a third offense, for merchandise totaling $1,000 or more. If found guilty, a person could face up to seven years in prison and be fined $15,000.
Repeat Assault Penalties
There are several types of assaults in Pennsylvania a person can be charged with. Two of these are simple assault and aggravated assault. It is the state’s job to prove that an assault was intentional, or meant to inflict bodily harm. Penalties can be up to twenty years depending on the victim’s status, such as an officer.
If you are charged with a felony, or if you have repeated the same offense more than once, please contact our office today at (215) 568-1400. Do not take on your case alone. The laws in Pennsylvania change constantly, and one mistake could cause you the rest of your life.